The Trader's Sister

This is the second book in The Traders, a five-part series set in the late 1860s, following on from the Swan River Saga. Book 3 has been written and comes out later this year. I'm so enjoying writing this series.

'The Trader's Sister' is now out in hardback, trade paperback (Australia and New Zealand only) and ebook format.

Ismay Deagan has one wish in the world – to leave Ireland and join her brother, Bram, in Australia. But her father has other ideas and orders her to marry their vicious neighbour Rory Flynn, even though she can’t stand him.

After Rory brutally attacks her, Ismay runs away, disguising herself as an impoverished young widow. When she meets Adam Tregear on the ship, she finally starts to believe her dreams of future happiness may come true.

Before she reaches Australia, however, she’s flung into adventures in Suez, Ceylon and Singapore. Dare she tell Adam the truth about who she really is? Does he have secrets of his own? Or will her past catch up with her and ruin her new-found happiness?

Book 3, 'The Trader's Dream', will be published in October 2012.


I've been fascinated by the research necessary for this series. I've learned about the history of Singapore as well as the history of Western Australia. I've studied the lives of real traders in Western Australia, too. There were some very enterprising people.

Once again, I've been helped to understand ships, both sailing and steam, by Eric Hare who has been a wonderful mentor and research companion. 

I had to learn about ships when writing in this period, because it was the only way to get to Western Australia. Even from Sydney in the east of Australia there was no land route to the Swan River Colony.

Come and join me in another wonderful adventure involving the Traders . . .

You can buy this book on line from:

Amazon UK

Amazon US

Amazon Canada

The Book Depository


Anna Jacobs is happy to be contacted about her writing and books. Please visit the contact page for more information.


Find Anna on Facebook.